Level 5 Certificate in Community Health Services (5M4468)


    This is a one year QQI Level 5 Course. Successful students may progress onto FETAC Level 6 in year 2 or alternatively students may seek employment in the field of Health and Social Care, e.g. care assistance, family support worker, classroom assistant. Social Studies programmes are delivered by a team of tutors who have suitable academic qualifications plus experience in the field of Health and Social Care

  • Further Educational Prospects

    FETAC Level 6 Certificate in Community Development at Moate Business College

  • Students who achieve the relevant Level 5 modules in year 1 may return to continue their studies in the Level 6 course.

    Career Prospects

    On successful completion of the Level 5 Community Health Services Programme, students may seek employment in the Field of Community Development Sector or Health and Social Care Arena. They can also apply through the CAO and UCAS for a wide range of degree courses.

    Entry Requirements

    Candidates most likely to benefit from the course will have a keen interest in Social Care. Selection is on the basis of an interview to determine the individual's suitability for the course. Open to mature students


Course content

  1. Nutrition
  2. Human Growth and Development
  3. Communications
  4. Work Experience
  5. Care, Provision and Practice
  6. Understanding Special Needs
  7. Social Studies
  8. Care of the Older Person
  9. Family Studies

FETAC Certification

Community Health Services (Level 5 - Code 5M4468)